Amilcar Perez Castro “APC”

Hello my friends, recently I was contacted by the good folks from Famous Smoke Shop in regards to reviewing a cigar for them. Now of course I said “Yes” and immediately received a five pack of  APC which stands for Amilcar Perez Castro in the robusto size. In looking at the Famous site on some back ground info on Castro, I found out that he is behind some of Rocky Patels cigars which immediately sparked my interest. Now I’m not sure what cigars he was behind because I was too lazy to google it so you will have to do your own homework (lol).

  • So now with the history behind us, now it’s time to see if the APC can pass the mighty Stew test or not.

CIGAR MAKE UP:

 

WRAPPER:  U.S. Pennsylvania Broadleaf Maduro

BINDER & FILLER:  Honduran & Nicaraguan

Length/Ring: 5 X 50

Shape: Robusto

Strength: Medium to Full

 

 

My Observations: The cigar wrapper is completely awesome to look at due to its rich dark chocolate appearance. The leaf itself has small veins which blend well with this rich Pennsylvania leaf.  As I continued on I found no imperfections to speak of and I am truly hoping that the smoke goes just as well.

 

  • On my finger touch inspections I found some soft spots but I think the heat in New England has something to do with it. Over all a true “A” in the grading department.

Cigar Label: Just cool with its gold, black, and white colors.

Snip: Straight cut.

 

Pre-Draw: Smooth with a licorice taste.

 

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of a strong peppery taste that was a bit too overpowering for my taste. I was kind of hoping that the cigar was going to start with the licorice but I guess I was wrong. Please note that I am a full body lover but I’m just not into straight pepper that is over bearing! The 2nd third continued with the strong pepper that finally give way close to the last third with a sweet chocolate taste. The last third basically finished with the chocolate but took a turn for the worse due to it becoming sort of sour and bitter towards the end.

Draw: Smooth 

Burn line: Jagged that requires touch-ups.

Price? Free for me for the review but you can find them at Famous for $27.99 for a five pack. 

Liked it? No!

Recommend it? Yes, if you like mad pepper.

Hint? Maybe just maybe some aging will do these sticks some justice

 

Note: I would like to thank the good folks at Famous for sending me a five pack try.

 

Over All

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

Leave a Reply

