TATUAJE “FRANK”

Hello everyone, today I am reviewing the “Frank” from the Tatuaje monster series. Now, I know what you’re going to say “Hey didn’t that come out in 2008?” And of course my answer is “Yes.” Now the short story of why I’m bringing you this review now is because I was hording it for a special day. That special day is arrived that being October 31, 2010. Now this day is not really a special day but I figured it was Halloween so thus the reason for bringing it out for a try. Please note, that this is the only one I owned and I have never smoked one before so don’t take this review to be gospel. So with the history behind us, I’m ready to give you my verdict on if it passes the mighty “Stew” test.

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan / Nicaragua

Length/Ring: 7 5/8 x 49

Shape: Churchill “boxpressed”

Strength: Full

Price: I paid $13.50 back in October 2008.

My Observations: I love this cigars makeup in every way and know why now the reason Pete Johnson and the Master roller himself Mr. Don Pepin gave it the thumbs up to be the very first monster. I say this because this cigar is just a true winner in the appearance department “period!” I base this opinion on the rich deep dark chocolate leaf wrapper that surrounded by perfect small non noticeable veins that flow perfectly with the makeup up this special creation. From top to bottom it just plain “rocks!”

On my finger touch inspection I found no soft spots or imperfections as I carefully spun the cigar in my fingers. Over all “A” in the grading department.

Cigar Label: Its green and it’s basically the same as all the other Tatuaje cigar labels.

Snip: Straight cut.

Pre-Draw: Smooth with a chocolate type flavor.

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of a heavy bout of spice and pepper that lets you know that this cigar is full body. The 2nd third begins with the end of the spice and pepper that turned into a rich and satisfying cocoa and chocolate rich sensation that kept me begging for more. Towards the end a full blast of Leather takes command that sends your mind wondering what could be next. The last third continued with the leather that is later joined with pepper and nuts.

Draw: Perfect

Burn line: Very jagged.

Liked it: Loved it!

Recommend it: Yes, if you can find it!

Hint: Hey Pete and Mr. Pepin, make more because it’s a winner.

Over All

Until Next Time

Stew

2 Responses

  1. You make an excellant point – “if you can find them”! I’ve been wanting to try one of Tatuaje’s The Frank cigars since first reading about them, but have never been able to find them. Still looking :-/

Leave a Reply

