Rocky Patel’s Olde World Reserve Maduro

Hello everyone, today I am reviewing Rocky Patel’s Olde World Reserve “Maduro” torpedo, which received the ranking of number 8 in the Cigar Aficionado 2009 top cigars list. This is a cigar that I wanted to review way before this cigar was ranked by them but some how it slipped through the cracks. Anyway I obtained one and now it’s time to see if it really lives up to the ranking it received.

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Costa Rica

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan / Honduran

Length/Ring: 5 X 54

Shape: Torpedo

Strength:Medium to Full

Price: I paid $ 9.55.

My Observations: The cigar is a nice chocolate monster that commands attention when you first lay your eyes on it. The cigar is nicely rolled and is complimented by it’s small non noticeable veins. On my finger touch inspection, I found no soft spots and no blemishes. Over all a great constructed cigar.

Cigar Label: A very nice and interesting design chosen by Rocky Patel. The colors consist of yellow, white, brown, and gold. It is sure to grab your attention once you see it.

Snip: Straight cut.

Pre-Draw: Very nice draw that produced a cinnamon note taste.

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of cinnamon and leather and earth. The 2nd third continued with the leather and earth but was quickly joined with a wonderful coffee and nutty taste. The last third continued with the leather and nuts but gave way to a wonderful chocolate flavor to end the smoke out with.

Draw: Smooth.

Burn line: Even for most of my smoke.

Liked it: Yes I did!

Recommend it: Yes

Hint: I agree with the ranking that it received.

Over All

Until Next Time

Stew

2 Responses

  1. I have not had one of these in ages. I was never really impressed with them. I will have to give them another shot and maybe try to age some to see how they smooth out.

    Great review as always – even though I keep looking for the video :p

    Mike

  2. I agree whith you Stew, it’s a great cigar!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

