Diamond Crown Maximus # 2 (Churchill)

Hello everyone, today I am bringing you the Diamond Crown Maximus # 2. I came into possession of this cigar from my good friend Barry from acigarsmoker.com approximately a year ago. Some how it became lost in the war chest until I recently rediscovered it. I am hoping that the extra aging with do this monster some good. I have heard a lot of great things about this stick so I am really expecting this to be a great smoke. So with the history behind us, let’s get to the review.

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: El Bajo Ecudarian Ligero Oscuro Sun Grown

BINDER & FILLER: Dominican/ Dominican

Length/Ring: 7 X 50

Shape: Churchill

Strength: Full

My Observations: Very disappointing to say the least for such a high-priced cigar! Why you ask? Well, first of all, I found it to have a sub par rolling job at best. Second, I found the cigar to have several imperfections, which I believe will affect my smoking experience. Finally, I found several soft spots on my finger touch inspection.  Over all a “C+” so far.

Cigar Label: Awesome with its assorted coolers and artwork.The colors consisted of yellow, gold, blue, silver, red, and white.

Snip: Straight cut.

Pre-Draw: Great with a rich tobacco taste.

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of pepper and spice and small hints of an unusual bitter coal type flavor. The 2nd third continued with the bitter coal taste, which was joined with dark roasted coffee. The last third continued with the unpleasant bitter coal taste and roasted coffee.


Draw: Smooth.

Burn line: Jagged, which had to be corrected several times.

Price: It was a gift but I believe they run around $252.95  for a box of 20.

Liked it: No

Recommend it: No.

Hint: If you like bitter coal flavors then go for it.

Over All

Until Next Time

One Response

  1. Bitter coal taste! Yuck. That’s unfortunate….

Leave a Reply

