CAO LX2

img_02111

 

Hello everyone, todays cigar is a special one that I have wanted to review since I first heard about it’s existence in June 2008. This cigar is the CAO LX2, which has been the talk of the town since it’s release into the free market. Most people I have spoken to, say its the “bomb” and is worth every penny. I for one am a big CAO fan so I was immediately up for this smoke. It took me some time to track it down but the wait is over and now lets start the review.

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Nicaraguan

BINDER & FILLER: Honduran / Nicaraguan & Dominican

Length/Ring: 6  1/2  X 52

Shape: Belicoso

Strength: Full

 

My Observations: This cigar stands out immediately from the time you lay your eyes on it. This is due to its beautiful deep dark chocolate wrapper, which was rolled perfectly. The cigar has little veins which are hardly noticeable. On my finger touch inspection, I found no soft spots to speak of and I have to tell you that I am very impressed with the makeup of this cigar thus far. 

Cigar Label: Exquisite! This cigar label is one of the best that I have seen in a long time. You can tell that some serious time and effort was put into this label before it even hit the production line. All the colors in it stand out and immediately grab your attention. These colors, which are black, silver, gold, white, and gray just blend perfectly together! A true “thumbs up!”

Snip: “V” cut.

Pre-Draw: A bit tight for my taste but lets see if it opens up during the smoke.

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of a pure blast of pepper, which immediately shows you the true power and strength of this cigar. I will say right now that if you are not a power cigar smoker, you may want to stay clear of this beast. The 2nd third consisted of strong dark chocolate, the pepper blast, and slight touches of cedar wood. The last third continued with these flavors, which never gets old on your pallet and keeps you begging for more. 

Draw: The draw opened right up after the first couple of puffs, which made for a great smoking experience. 

Burn line: A little jagged! 

Price? $7.75, which is outstanding for a smoke like this one!

Drink of choice? Hot coffee.

Smoke Time? Approximately two hours.

Liked it? Yes, its a great smoke!

Recommend it? Yes I do.

Hint? Keep in mind, its a power house!

Over All

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

6 Responses

  1. Nice review. I’ve had one of these chilling out in my humidor for about a month-and-a-half at this point…just keep forgetting to smoke it. Seems your review is only adding to the chorus of praise, so I’ll have to torch it soon.

  2. Great review of a great cigar — try the lancero if you haven’t yet a whole new dimension to this smoke.

    Matt

  3. I have enjoyed the LX2 but I think that some time will make them even better.

    Good reviews!

  4. A big thumbs up to you, Stew. Excellent review!

    – Zman

  5. Matt M,
    I hear the lanceros are very prone to burn issues. Have you heard anything like that?

    I think I’ve got one of these resting too…I really need to organize my stuff.

    And I too am a CAO fan so am looking forward to this one. Thanks for another great review!

  6. First, thanks for checking out our website at SalasHerf and we even put a link to your website for additional reference. Second, we took a road trip to San Jose to smoke the LX2, and like you said, it is a power smoke. I personally didn’t like the cigar because it was too strong for me. I ended up putting out the smoke real early and grabbed a Padron #6000.

    Grsshppr

Leave a Reply

