Inauguration Day Cigar “Rocky Patel Fusion 2nds

ap_whitehouse_050120_sshimg_0237

Hello everyone and “Yes” today we swear in a new President for this great country called the United States of America. I did not vote for President Barack Obama but wish him well in solving America’s problems that he is inheriting. So with that said, I have attached a cigar label with President Barack Obama’s picture welcoming him to the Presidency. Now I had to choose a cigar for this fine day, so I though to myself, which one will it be? Now with the country’s economy in  a recession, I thought why not a cigar that is several dollars cheaper but still gives the cigar smoker a well deserved smoke. So after sifting through my humidor, I came up with the lucky cigar that would have the honor of hosting President Barack Obama’s picture on it. The cigar of choice is the Rocky Patel Fusion 2nds. What is a Rocky Patel Fusion 2nd you ask? Its just that, the Fusion cigar that Rocky dismissed due to a slight imperfection or some other cosmetic problem. So now we have the cigar, lets get to the review shall we!

 

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: It’s got 2 wrappers: oily Habano wrapper on the outside, with a Connecticut leaf underneath it. 

BINDER & FILLER: Ecuadorian Connecticut / Nicaraguan, Honduran and Cameroon

Length/Ring: 6.5 X 52

Shape: Torpedo

Strength: Medium

 

My Observations: You know, I didn’t really find anything wrong with this cigar. The roll seemed to be right on the mark, but I did find a couple of discolored markings but believe it could have passed. I guess that’s why I don’t work for Rocky Patel though (lol). Any ways, on my finger touch inspection, I found some small soft spots but as a whole, so far this cigar is well worth the $39.99 price point for fifteen torpedo cigars.

 

Cigar Label: You don’t get a wrapper with this cigar.

 

Snip: The “V” cut.

Pre-Draw: Perfect!

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of a sweet flavor right off the bat, which is very pleasing. This flavor is joined with hints of a chocolate nutty type flavor.  The 2nd third continued with the sweet flavor, but was joined with wood and a beautiful spice. The last third consisted of the sweet flavor, some short hints of coffee, chocolate nut, spice, and oak wood. This cigar was almost exactly as I remember it when I reviewed the Rocky Patel Fusion last June 2008. I really enjoyed this cigar and would buy the 2nds again in a minute. Not only does it save you the consumer money but it is just as good as the real thing.

Draw: Perfect!

Burn line: Amazingly, it behaved better than the ones I smoked last June. 

Price? $39.99 a bundle for fifteen cigars.

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? Approximately two hours.

Liked it? Yes,

Recommend it? Yes,I do.

Hint? Don’t be afraid to pick this one up, its well worth the money.

 

Over All

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

4 Responses

  1. What other seconds have you had success with i know i’ve seen you mention some other rocky seconds.

    Matt

  2. In all honesty: I love my Rocky P’s. For me it is the Rocky Patel Sun Grown Junior. The taste and the draw is great and they are not that expensive. Really good to enjoy myself.

  3. What a disgrace to this fine cigar…

    • Anthony,

      I agree being a conservative and tea party member. It was posted as a theme but I still back up the phrase where I said I wish him good luck in helping the country get out of finical trouble, only he failed like I knew he would! Just think if the Republicans would have used their heads, it would have been someone like Mitt on that cigar instead.

      Thanks for the comment keep them coming!

      Stew

Leave a Reply

