Don Pepin Garcia Blue Invictos

img_01131

Hello everyone and welcome to another cigar review here at the World According to Stew. I am very excited about this review because I have heard so many good things about it. So when I purchased it, I had to use some extreme willpower just to let it sleep in my humidor for a couple of weeks in order to save it for a 2009 review. It wasn’t easy but after a months time, I made it and now it is time to unvail it to you.

Todays cigar is the Don Pepin Garcia “Blue Invictos.” As most of my readers know, I a m a hugh Don Pepin fan and haven’t really found a cigar that he has put his hands on that I haven’t liked. Now that’s not to say that I am bias towards his product, it just means the guy is truly a master in his field. So with that behind us, lets get to the review.

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

 

 

WRAPPER: Corojo

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan / Nicaraguan

Length/Ring: 5 x 50

Shape: Robusto

Strength: Medium 

 

 

 

My Observations: This is a great looking cigar, which immediately draws your attention to it, with its rich cinnamon brown wrapper. It really is a wonderful creation and seems to be flawless with its small non noticeable veins. To tell you the truth I expected nothing less from Don Pepin though. The cap is triple crowned, which was placed with pure perfection. On my finger touch inspection, I found no soft spots and now I am ready to dive right into it.

 

Cigar Label: Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! This label was well planned out and just an excellent marketing scheme. Trust me it will draw your attention to it the first time you lay your eyes on it. The colors consist of rich bright colors of blue, light blue, gold, and orangey-red, 

 

Snip: I chose the “V” cut and have no complaints.

 

Pre-Draw: The pre-draw was smooth with a peppery taste.

 

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of hot pepper, which seems to be the Don Pepin trade mark in most of his cigars. This flavor is strong at first and then calms down and gives way to a rich Cuban type roasted coffee bean taste, which is joined with sweet spicy flavors.  The 2nd third consisted of leather, cedar, and Cuban coffee beans. The last third continued with the leather, spice, and coffee. All these flavors are a true treat and blended together superbly.

Draw: A true pleasure. 

Burn line: Jagged for most of the smoke but seemed to take care of itself without touchups.

Note: I did have a small tear in my wrapper during the smoke but I think it might have been from the cold weather on the day I smoked it. I believe that this also may affected the burn line as well. So keep that in mind and now lets see a short clip to show you how the cigar behaved. 

 

Price? Approximately $9.00 a stick

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? About an hour and half  

Liked it? Yes I did!

Recommend it? Get one and see for yourself!

Hint? Get a five pack, you will thank me for it later!

Over All

 

Until Next Time

Stew


Leave a Reply

