ROCKY PATEL R4 “Corojo”

img_0187

 

 

Hello my friends, its time for another “World According to Stew” cigar review. Todays cigar is the Rocky Patel R4 “Corojo” torpedo. I have been waiting to smoke and review this cigar for awhile now but didn’t want to pay the full price. So once I saw them on Cigarbid.com, I made a couple of bids and finally scored a box for $30.00 plus shipping, which was approximately $6.00. So now with the history behind us, lets get into the review and see if it was worth it.

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

 

WRAPPER: Corojo

BINDER & FILLER:  Honduran & Nicaraguan

Length/Ring: 6.0 X 52

Shape: Torpedo

Strength: Medium to Full 

 

 

My Observations: The cigar wrapper is kind of “blah” to put it simple. The leaf itself has medium size veins and appears to have been poorly constructed. As I continued to look at my R4, I was shocked that this cigar even made it past Rocky’s high standards, and I am deeply disappointed to say the least. I can only hope that the smoke itself will change my opinion about this poor looking cigar. On my finger touch inspection, I found the cigar to be stiff. Make sure you don’t man hand this one because if you are heavy handed, you will be tossing this one before you even get to light it. Over all so far, I give this cigar a “thumbs” down on appearance.

 

Cigar Label: Poor to say the least. I think maybe it was rushed and as a result not much marketing effort was put behind it. The wrapper colors consist of brown, yellow, and white, Again just “boring!

 

Snip: I chose the “V” cut for this task. Once I completed it, I noticed that the wrapper began to unravel a bit. This happen on both cigars I smoked, so I know it had nothing to do with the operator.  Again this falls back on the sloppy construction “bummer!”

Pre-Draw: The pre-draw was tight.

 

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of earth in the form of dirt, wood, roasted coffee beans, and slight hints of spice. The 2nd third was basically the same but the earthy dirt flavor seem to dominating flavor. The last third basically consisted of the same, and now I have to say “Thank God I am only out $36.00! 

 

Draw: Was tight for most of the smoke, so be prepared to work a little. 

Burn line: Jagged that requires touchups now and then. So keep your lighter handy.

Price? About forty dollars a box before shipping but shop around if your interested in them after you have read this review.

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? This is a slow burner so put some time aside. A little over two hours.

Liked it? No!

Recommend it? No!

Hint? I would pass on this cigar. Not that the flavors were bad, I just don’t like a cigar that has primarily earthy dirt flavors. Even if you like those flavors, I think the construction alone is enough to keep you away from it!

 

 

Over All

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

6 Responses

  1. Hello Stew. It appears that we are not that far away from each other. It takes me 1/2 to get to Providence! But anyway, on to the cigar. It seems to me that with Rocky boasting on how his factory has the best standards in the cigar industry, he should be ashamed on this R4 line. I’ve never seen these cigars at any smoke shop I’ve been in, and I will not be looking for these. I wonder if the Fusion blend Rocky Patels are this bad in construction. Anyways, good review and it’s good to have a cigar blog with the man in charge from around the area. Doesn’t this weather suck?!?!? Good luck shoveling out in the next few days!
    ~Erik Fraunfelter
    Mansfield,MA

  2. I too picked up the same bundle from c-bid, but haven’t tried one yet. I like leaving anything I get from them in the humi for a month before trying it. When I do, I’ll be back to let you know how mine were.

    Thanks for the review and keep’em coming!

    doc

  3. Im smoking mine right now and I am not in agreement with the appearance, and will be posting a full review on my site as soon as I am done.

  4. I spent over 2 hrs doing some simple organizing of my cigars, and while doing so pulled out one of my R4 Corojo torpedos. I lit it up while starting my evening perusal of stogie related sites and noted something very sweet on the cap. Not bad, but not something I’d expect from a corojo. Then 1/2 inch in, I got the distinct aroma of milk. That was a first, and if it never happened again it’d be ok with me. After that I couldn’t really get anything else out of it since I kept thinking milk milk milk…

    The retro gave me some definite citrus, I’d go with lime I think.

    Other than that it was uneventful. But with all said, I am getting over pneumonia so will give Rocky another try in a week or so to see if any of these notes show up or not.

    Stay tuned! 😉

  5. […] Posts ROCKY PATEL R4 "Corojo" CAO LX2 JOYA DE NICARAGUA ANTANO 1970 LANCEROPD CIGARS HEMINGWAY SHORT STORYEl Triunfador by Pete […]

  6. Purchasing memory is such a chore… You have to search online for prices, sort through which ones are genuine, visit a bunch of electronics shops,compare prices, finally buy your memory, and then fervently pray that the price doesn’t drop in the next month or so.I’ve been done in by rapid price drops in the past… especially this one time when I bought a Micro SD for my DS flashcard at what apparently was a bargain price, only to later see that it had dropped by $5 in a week’s time.(Submitted on Nintendo DS running R4i SDHC NetBlog)

Leave a Reply

