GURKHA “Dos Capos” TORPEDO

img_0156

 

Hello everyone, todays cigar is the Gurkha “Dos Capos” Torpedo. I acquired this cigar in a five pack of Gurkha cigars from Cigar International. This barber-pole style cigar is quite impressive and I am looking forward to smoking it. Yeah I know, I am a sucker for gimmicks (LOL).

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Cameroon & Brazilian

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan / Dominican

Length/Ring: 6 X 53

Shape: Torpedo

Strength: Mild 

 

My Observations: The cigar is simply amazing as in the case of most barber pole style cigars. It was well wrapped and has little non noticeable veins. On my finger touch inspection. I found no soft spots and I have to say that I am very impressed to say the least. I just hope the smoke is as good.

 

Cigar Label: Very cool, I love the artwork and as with most Gurkha cigar labels, an “eye” catcher. The label is made up of orange, gold, and black.

 

Snip: The “V” cut.

Pre-Draw: Perfect!

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of earthy, and carmel, which was very sweet. I was pleasantly surprised with the up in your face flavors and I’m sure you will be too. The 2nd third continued with the earthy flavor, but eventually died down and was over taken by a rich coffee, which I found to be very pleasing. The last third consisted of coffee, chocolate, leather, and spice. I have to that I thoroughly enjoyed the flavors of this cigar but wished it had more power to it. So with that said this cigar is definitely a mild cigar at best. If I had box of these guys, I would definitely smoke them in the morning with my first cup of coffee.

Draw: Perfect as I am finding in all the Gurkha’s I have smoked. 

Burn line: Great! 

Price? Not sure because I think they are discontinuing this cigar.

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? Approximately an hours.

Liked it? Yes I really did.

Recommend it? If you can find it.

Hint? Don’t go out of your way to find this unless your a mild body cigar smoker.

 

Over All

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

3 Responses

  1. I don’t know how many times I’ve seen this 5’er on C-bid, and since it seems to be the only way to get one of these, I’ll probably pull the trigger eventually so I can give it a try. I love the Argenese barber pole. Have you had it? Do they compare?

    Thanks for the review!

  2. I’ve only had one and it was a while ago. I don’t have any notes on it so can’t be specific, but I remember likeing it a lot. I’m fairly sure I have another, so when I light it up I’ll be sure to come back here and post.

Leave a Reply

