STEW’S LAST CIGAR REVIEW OF 2008 CAMACHO COROJO MADURO

img_0134

 

Hello everyone, I hope you had a great Christmas, I know I did! So here we are, the last cigar review of 2009. I am shocked how fast time goes by and I bet you are too. I have to say though that 2008 was a great time for cigars and I am sure glad that I got to review some of them, and as a result, I met some awesome people through it as well. So with that said, I would like to thank all the cigar companies who sent me some samples to review throughout the year! 

 

Todays cigar is the Camacho Corojo Maduro. I chose this cigar because of Ed and Tom’s recent cigar review over at Toms Cigar Reviews. I noticed that I had never done a Camacho review and figured this would go well after the wonderful review that Ed, Ant, and Tom did earlier in the week! If you haven’t seen it get on over their, because you missing a real treat. OK, lets get to it already!

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Honduras

BINDER & FILLER: Honduras / Honduras

Length/Ring: 6 1/8 X 54

Shape: Torpedo

Strength: Medium 

 

My Observations: I found this cigar to be a wonderful looking creature. The wrapper is a medium brown leaf wrapper, which was rolled to perfection. The leaf wrapper does however have some noticeable veins, but it doesn’t take away from the construction of it in any way. On my finger touch inspection, I found the wrapper to be oily and smooth. I have heard a lot from people that smoke Camacho’s on a regular basis brag about its construction and now I can see why.

Cigar Label: Kind of “blah” and I personally I don’t like it. I found it to sort of blend in with the leaf wrapper and I think as a result it doesn’t command much attention to it. Over all I would say poor “marketing” scheme and as a result I bet it gets passed over by ordinary cigar smokers looking for something new. The label consists of a brown background with a dull gold striping and lettering. Personally, I think Camacho should change it but hey its only my opinion.

 

Snip: I chose the “V” cut for this task.

Pre-Draw: Tremendous!

Toasting: Perfect with my triple burner lighter

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of earth, cedar wood, and nuts. These flavors, blended well together, but the main flavor on the pallet was earth. The 2nd third consisted of earth, chocolate, which picks up a great deal with every puff, and small hints of coffee. The final 3rd consisted of chocolate, earth, and leather. This is a fine smoke and I have to say, my first experience with Camacho, was a good one.

Draw and burn line: Was jagged and uneven but didn’t affect my smoke. 

Price? Approximately $7.50 a stick

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? Two hours.

Liked it? I really did!

Recommend it? You bet I do!

Hint? I housed mine for approximately three months before my review, and I suggest you do too.

 

Over All

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

One Response

  1. This is a really good cigar. I especially like how the burn aroma changes from mild to medium to full as you smoke it. I’ve found everything from Camacho to be well worth the money. Another thumbs up from me.

Leave a Reply

