DON PEPIN GARCIA SERIES “JJ” MADURO

 

img_0048

 

Today’s cigar is the Don Pepin Garcia Series “JJ” Maduro from the cigar master himself “Don Pepin. I am very excited about this review because “Don” is one of my favorite cigar makers, and I consider him to be one of the superior cigar rollers and makers in the industry today. If you don’t know the Pepin name then you must be hiding under a rock! So without further ado, let’s get down to business!

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Nicaraguan Maduro

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan Corojo / Criollo 

Length/Ring: 5.7 X 52

Shape: Belicoso

Strength: Medium to full

 

My Observations: As in all Don Pepin cigars, what you see is what you get. So what do you get? A beautiful rolled cigar with little or no imperfections. There are some veins but they seem to blend in perfectly with this gorgeous chocolate brown leaf wrapper. The wrapper itself is oily that gives off a wonderful sheen in its appearance. On my finger touch inspection, I found it to be smooth and silky! I found no soft spots and once again, I know why the “Pepin” name is so popular in the cigar world. Trust me, if you purchase this cigar you will understand too!

 

Cigar Label: Perfect! The white background label just stands out with the gold lettering, orange, reddish, design and gold filling around it. True genius and a hugh “Stew Thumbs” up to the Pepin marketing team!

Snip: I chose my cigar scissors for this task and I have no complaints to share with you.

Pre-Draw: The dry draw was a bit snug for my taste but I will let you know if it affected my smoke.

Toasting: “Yes” I used my triple burner torch lighter, and yes the my cigar took right off. 

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of that famous pepper “Pepin” trade mark that one usually gets right up front with most of his creations. This peppery flavor does not last long though and quickly fades out at, which point I tasted nuts, and cedar flavors on my pallet. The 2nd third consisted of various spices, cedar, and nuts. The final 3rd consisted of nuts, various wonderful spices, and small hints of Cuban coffee flavor. 

 

Draw and burn line: The draw was again a bit snug for my taste but it seemed to loosen up as the smoke went on. The burn line was a bit jagged but never affected my smoke in any way.

Price? Approximately $9.00 a stick

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? Approximately two hours and half.

Liked it? Very, very good!

Recommend it? YES, put it on your Christmas list (LOL)!

Hint? I think aging this sucker will do it justice!

 

Over All

 

Until Next Time

Stew

2 Responses

  1. Stew,

    Thanks for the review. I have yet to try this cigar and have been adding/removing a Don Pepin sampler from my shopping cart several times over. After checking out your “thumbs up” review I might look at picking up a 5-pack.

    Out of curiousity, what is the “cigar style” book you have in the background of the picture? A journal for note taking??

    Thanks again.

    v/r
    Beezer

  2. Thanks for your savvy cigar reviews! I would love to swap links with you if you’d be down!

Leave a Reply

