Montecristo Cabinet Selección

photo-43

 

Today’s cigar is the Montecristo Cabinet Selección from the good folks of Altadis. I found this cigar while I was looking for something new to smoke at the Humidor located on Post Road in East Greenwich R.I. I have to say that I walked into the cigar shop at the right time, because I was able to purchase three of these babies at 20 % off and got the forth one for free due to the promo they were having. So with the history of how I obtained it behind us, let’s get into the review.

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Ecuadorian Sumatra

BINDER & FILLER: Dominican / Peruvian & Nicaraguan 

Length/Ring: 6 X 52

Shape: Toro

Strength: Medium to full

 

My Observations: This cigar has a beautiful chocolate leaf wrapper but is a bit veiny. I did find this cigar to be rolled with pure confidence and found no imperfections on the leaf wrapper. On my finger touch inspection, I found some soft spots but not enough to affect the smoke. The cap was put on with pure craftsmanship, which was centered perfectly. Overall this cigar is an awesome creature to look at, and I am sure glad that I obtained a couple to age in my humidor for a later date!

Cigar Label: Classic, with it’s white background, black writing, and gold stripes. I loved a label that draws your attention and this label does just that!

Snip: I chose a hole punch for this task, which is slowly becoming my choice. Not sure why but that might be a topic for another post.

Pre-Draw: The dry draw was perfect for my taste, and I quickly was rewarded with a nice pepper taste.

 

Toasting: Perfect with the use of my triple burner torch lighter. 

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of cocoa and pepper, which blended together perfectly. The 2nd third continued with the rich cocoa flavor, pepper, and was joined with hints of milk chocolate “Yum!”. The final 3rd consisted of cocoa, and rich milk chocolate and a slight hint of earth. I have to say that all these flavors blended well together, and my pallet thoroughly enjoyed them!

 

Draw and burn line: The draw was awesome and the burn line was a bit ragged but even out towards the end of my smoke. 

Price? Approximately $9.50 a stick

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? Approximately two hours

Liked it? Loved it!

Recommend it? YES!

Hint? Seriously, if you get a chance to smoke this baby! DO IT!

Over All

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

Leave a Reply

