CUBAN IMPORTS “EXILE”

 

photo-17

 

Today’s cigar is from Cuban Imports called the Exile. I bought this cigar back in the summer of 2007 and lost it in the bottom of my humidor until I found it again for this review. I choose this cigar because of it’s theme, that being the 1960s era. I am a history buff and loved JFK, so now you have my history of how it landed in my hands. 

 

photo-18

Checkout the label on this cigar, especially the Cuban Embargo theme stamp. If you look closely to the photo, you will be able to make out the official Cuban Embargo stamp which is in red. Great job Cuban Imports, it’s a true marketing success. 

 

photo-19

Here is the wrapper the cigar came in. “Very cool” Again look closely and you will be able to make out that it’s a newspaper clipping that John F. Kennedy signed a document “The Cuban Embargo” making it law that no Americans were able to purchase any Cuban products “especially Cuban cigars” which is still in effect today. Again another awesome marketing scheme, which I give an “A+”

 

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Ecuadorian Sun Grown Sumatra

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan / Nicaraguan 

Length/Ring: 5 1/2 X 52

Shape: Robusto

Strength: Medium

 

My Observations: This is a great looking cigar with that has a beautiful dark brown wrapper. The cigar itself was rolled with true confidence and I found “No” imperfections to speak off. The cap was evenly placed and on my finger touch inspection, I found no soft spots. 

 

Snip: I choose my Xzkar multi-tool cigar scissors for this task, which clipped through the perfectly placed cap with ease.

Pre-Draw: The dry draw was perfect with no resistance. 

Toasting: I chose my triple burner lighter for this task, and my cigar danced over it as if it was a bug attracted to light.

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of nuts and raspberries. The 2nd third consisted of mocha, spice and the very tasty raspberry flavors. These flavors are smooth and unique and will keep your pallet begging for more! The final 3rd consisted of small hints of coffee, mocha, raspberry and spice. This is a wonderful tasting cigar which I thoroughly enjoyed from beginning to end!

Draw and burn line: The draw was smooth which let me enjoy all of the cigars rich flavors. The burn line was even throughout my smoke and I am starting to wonder how this cigar escaped me until now. 

Price? Approximately $4.50 a stick

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? Approximately two hours

Liked it? Yes

Recommend it? Yes, get it!

Hint? Smoke it slow and you will be rewarded!

Over All

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

2 Responses

  1. Stew,

    Thanks for the review. I will have to look around and see if I can find any of these. Very creative marketing and I’m curious about the rasberries. Hmm.

    I was recently turned onto cigars and I have enjoyed reading your posts. Keep up the good work!

    I just started my own blog at: http://www.beezerscigarjournal.blogspot.com/

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

    Beezer

  2. Stew,

    Great review of a great cigar! These are a pleasure to smoke, which is why Ed and I reviewed one awhile back. A jem of a cigar.

Leave a Reply

