JOYA DE NICARAGUA ANTANO 1970 LANCERO

 

 Hello everyone,  I am glad to be back with you after I finally kicked a nasty cold. Just another reason why I hate to see the end of Summer! It seems that once its over the germs are right there with it to make you sick. Ok enough with my babbling, lets get to what you came for! A cigar review!

The cigar of choice today is the Joya De Nicaragua Antano 1970 Lancero. I would like to give a big shout out to my friend Michael for his kind generosity, “I owe you one!” So now that you know how I obtained this “breadstick” of a cigar, lets get into it.

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Dark “rasado-hued” Nicaraguan Criollo

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan / Nicaraguan  

Length/Ring: 7.5 X 38

Shape: Lancero

Strength: Medium to Full

 

 

My Observations: This cigar is “very” cool looking, partly due to it’s length and size. The wrapper on this baby is an awesome site, and I wasn’t sure whether I should smoke it or eat it? (You know it really looks like a dark breadstick ~ lol) I found no soft spots on my finger touch inspection and to tell you the truth,  I really have nothing bad to say about the construction of it.

 

Cigar Label: Awesome, awesome, awesome! I love the classic look of this label which consists of red, sliver, green, gray, and black. It will jump out at you while you are perusing your cigar stores cigar cabinet. 

 

Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: I used my guillotine cutter for this task which sliced right through the small end cap. The pre-draw was excellent, just the way I like it. Once lit, I instantly detected a nice strong taste of pepper on my pallet. This flavor was paired with slight notes of rich coffee and I felt like I was smoking a great Cuban cigar!  

 

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar as stated above, consisted of pepper and roasted coffee. The 2nd third continued with the peppery flavor which was again paired up with notes of coffee, and wood. The last third consisted of pepper, coffee, and chocolate though very mild.

 

Draw and burn line: The draw on this cigar was awesome, and I was very pleased with it through out my smoke. The burn line was also “perfect!” and I have to say that I am loving my first experience with the lancero cigar experience The ash on this gem is a clean gray color, which required little ashing.

 

Price? Approximately $ 70.00 for a box. Do your homework though!

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? About two hours and a half! 

Liked it? Yes, to my surprise

Recommend it? Yes

 

Hint? This is a great cigar, so broaden your horizons, and don’t make the same mistake I made by shying away from it because of its thin size!

Over All

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

One Response

  1. Stew! Nice review! Lancero size is all the rage these days!

    I’m not an Antano guy. It has a little too much power for me. I like the Celebracion from JyDN. Same great flavors but the power is turned down a notch.

Leave a Reply

