CONNECTICUT by ROCKY PATEL

 

 

Hello everyone, I hope you are having a fantastic week. I figured that I would post a couple of reviews this week to make up for my absence in the past two weeks. I would also like to mention that the Boston vs New York cigar series II is about to take place sometime towards the end of this week. If you are unsure of what I am talking about, please check out my past reviews box and click on Boston vs New York series I. Ok now with that behind us, lets get to todays cigar review.

 

The cigar of choice today is the Connecticut by Rocky Patel which I was recommended to try by my good buddy Jerry over at the Stogie Review. I value what Jerry has to say about cigars so I immediately sought out this cigar to put his recommendation to the test. So with that said, I obtained a five pack from Cigar-bid for just $11.00 before the shipping price was applied. Anyways thats the history behind it so lets get right into the review, shall we.

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Connecticut Shade 

BINDER & FILLER: ? / ?

Length/Ring: 6 X 52

Shape: Toro

Strength: Mild

 

My Observations: This is a smooth looking cigar which consists of a beautiful light tan colored leaf wrapper. The wrapper is practically veinless which in my book is a good thing. The cigar cap appears to be double caped which were placed beautifully. On my finger touch inspection, I found the leaf wrapper to be oily to the touch, again another plus in the “Stew” book. This cigar was tight with no soft spots to speak of. 

Cigar Label: Simple and easy on the eyes. The colors consist of a light tan wrapper with dark brown stripping and lettering. Nice touch Rocky Patel!

Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: I used my cigar punch for this task which of course went off with a bang!  The pre-draw was excellent at which time I experienced a creamy clean tobacco taste on my pallet. The Toasting phase was excellent and my cigar took right off with the use of my double burner torch lighter. I know, another lighter but I love to experiment! 

 

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of a a nice coffee taste that was creamy and smooth. This flavor was complimented with hints of a nutty type flavor (awesome!) 2nd third was consistent with the 1st third which continued into the final 3rd as well except for the sweet sugary smooth finish. I will say that with this cigar, what you taste upfront is basically what you get throughout your smoking experience except for the sweet finish.

Draw and burn line: Awesome and awesome. The ash is a nice white grayish color and does not requirer much ashing, again another plus in the “Stew” book. This cigar produced an excellent amount of smoke which will “wow” the people around you and I bet they will ask you what you are smoking!

Price? Approximately $24.00 for a five pack.

Drink of choice? Hot coffee

Smoke Time? About two hours! 

Liked it? Yes, it will now be stocked in my humidor for a daily cigar!

Recommend it? Yes

Hint? Add this one to your weekly rotation

 

Final Note: Thanks Jerry for the tip on this hidden sleeper!

 

Over ALL

 

Until Next Time

Stew

One Response

  1. […] Rocky Patel Connecticut-  Surprisingly, this is my favorite smoke of 2010.  I typically favor fuller, more flavorful cigars, but this RP had an incredible amount of flavor.  I can easily recommend this to a new cigar smoker AND to a grizzled veteran.  Both will enjoy the Connecticut. […]

Leave a Reply

