MACANUDO 1968

Hello to all my readers and good day to all of you. I am so glad that you are here for another cigar review and would like to personally thank you for all your support. Lets face it, without you, its just an empty page with empty words.

The cigar of choice today is the new Macanudo 1968 robusto. This cigar is brand new and is supposed to focus towards full body smokers. I obtained three of these cigars through a great offer from Macunudo which  I saw in Cigar Aficionado. At nine dollars for three cigars which includes shipping, I said to myself lets pull the trigger on this one. So now with the buying history behind us lets get into it.

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Honduras

BINDER & FILLER: Habano Connecticut / Nicaragua & Dominican

Length/Ring: 5 X 50

Shape: Robusto

Strength: Medium

My Observations: This is a great looking cigar with a nice dark looking wrapper. The roll is superb and Macanudo must have used choice rollers for this cigar. “Its a winner in the appearance category.”

Cigar Label: This label is a classic! The colors consist of black, gold, white, and red. Trust me, the label will draw your attention while you are shopping at your local cigar shop. I would have to give the label and “A+”

Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: I used my Xzkar guillotine cutter to achieve this task and noticed instantly that the cigar began to unravel a bit but not enough to affect my cigar smoking experience. The pre-draw flavor consisted of pepper and lots of it. Lighting this cigar was easy as it took to my single torch burner flame with ease. Once lit it produced nice thick smoke with a grayish tone ash.

Flavors: The flavors of this cigar consisted of mostly spicy pepper. I did find short hints of chocolate and coffee now and then but not enough to keep my pallet interested. I personally like a cigar that keeps you guessing and this one does not! I’m not sure what Macanudo was searching for when they chose the flavor theme for this cigar but it is lacking something and they defiantly missed the boat on this one. What a disappointment, I was expecting so much more after all the hype this cigar received!

Draw and burn line: The draw was perfect throughout the smoke as most Macanudo’s are, so no complaints in this category. The burn line was also even throughout my smoke and again this was due to the flawless construction in the making of this cigar.

Price? Approximately $8.50

Drink of choice? Gatorade

Smoke Time? About an hour and half!

Liked it? No

Recommend it? No, I just think the lack of flavors killed it.

Hint? None.

Over All?

Until Next Time

Stew

2 Responses

  1. the total lack of notes on this cigar surprised the hell out of me. I got the rest of the 3 pack (2 sticks) aging in my humidor. When I start to see them in my local B&Ms I’ll smoke another and see if it is worthy to review.

  2. […] katsushirookamoto on Wed 03-12-2008 The Omnivore’s Hundred Saved by uichin on Sun 30-11-2008 MACANUDO 1968 Saved by clementesc on Sun 30-11-2008 Matt’s Top 5 Cigars Saved by lathspellvash on Fri […]

Leave a Reply

