LUNA AZUL “POLO”

Today I am blogging from beautiful Providence Rhode Island located in Cigar Masters at One West Exchange Street Providence Rhode Island 02903. You can reach them by phone at 1-888-95-CIGAR or email them at cigarmasters.com.

The cigar of choice today is a special one which I stumbled upon at a recent POLO match I attended in Portsmouth Rhode Island earlier this month. Anyway while I was there, I noticed this gentleman identified later as Mr. Jonathan Kaye seated in front a Volkswagen bus. Now what really drew my attention towards him was the cigar he was smoking. The label was not of any I have ever seen and being the curious cigar afionado that I am, I quickly walked up to Mr. Kaye to investigate.

In speaking with Mr. Kaye, I was advised that the cigar was a Luna Azul “Polo” cigar made in the Dominican Republic. Mr. Kaye told me that it was his own personal brand and that I could find them at Cigar Masters in Boston.

I decided to take up Mr. Kaye’s offer which was to seek out his cigar by calling Cigar Masters in Boston. I spoke to a gentleman call “Patrick” and found out that he only had two boxes in stock. I asked Patrick if there was anyway I could get my hands on a couple to review and he stated “Stew” I will have them shipped right down to Providence Cigar Masters and you can pick them up on Friday. I would like to note that I have never met Patrick and was astonished by his professionalism and devotion in pleasing customers. Its acts like this one that that make a cigar business work. “Hats off to you Patrick! I hope Cigar Masters knows what they have!”

So with the history behind us, lets get to the review of the Luna Azul “Polo” Cigar!

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Connecticut Broad leaf

BINDER & FILLER: Dominican / Dominican

Length/Ring: 5 X 50

Shape: Robusto

Strength: Medium

My Observations: I love the look of this cigar with its medium brown colored wrapper. The wrapper itself is a bit veiny but I really don’t think it will affect the smoke. The roll is beautiful with no imperfections to speak of. The cap is a bit sloppy and lopsided but overall I am impressed with the cigar make up.

Cigar Label: The cigar colors consist of maroon, white, and a touch of gray.

Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: I used my cigar scissors on my Luna Azul and achieved my task without any complications. The pre-draw was perfect but I really didn’t get any suttle flavors to tell you about. The toasting phase was perfect with my triple burner and on the first draw I detected a nice peppery taste.

Flavors: The flavors of this cigar consisted of pepper, earthy tones, roasted coffee, and some beautiful hints of chocolate and carmel. At one point, I even detected a hint of cinnamon.

Draw and burn line: The draw was perfect through out the smoke.  The burn line was inconsistent through out two-thirds of the smoke but corrected itself in the last third. Over all though, I have to say that even with the uneven burnline I thouroughly enjoyed my Luna Azul.

Price? Approximately $5.50

Drink of choice? Coca Cola

Smoke Time? About two hours!

Liked it? Yes.

Recommend it? Yes.

Hint? I think putting these babies to sleep will help bring out the rich flavors.

Over All?

Until Next Time

Stew

3 Responses

  1. Hey Stew, that’s quite a label. I can see how it brought your attention to that cigar. Sort of reinforces your opinion on cigar labels in one of your earlier posts. Keep the reviews coming!

  2. […] folks! This week I bring you a cigar that was gifted to me by my buddy Stew over at The World According to Stew. Stew had got these cigars after meeting the guy who owns the line at a polo match Stew was at. […]

  3. […] I was gifted this stick by JMulley on Twitter, who also reviewed it over at his site, here. […]

Leave a Reply

