Tabak Especial Toro Negra

 

 

 

Hey, what’s up everyone its Stew here again with another fine cigar review. Today, I chose the Tabak Especial Toro Negra coffee infused cigar to review. This cigar is made by the folks at Drew Estates. You know the guys who make ACID, Le Vieja Habana, Java, etc (you get the point). I chose this cigar because I for one like infused cigars occasionally and saw this one flashing out at me when I visited the Humidor Cigar Shop located in East Greenwich Rhode Island. Hey just to give them a quick plug, the owner of the cigar shop is featured in the current “Cigar Magazine” so check it out if you get a chance. OK, enough with the rant; time to get to the review.

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Connecticut Broadleaf  

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan Sumatra / Nicaraguan Criiollo

Length/Ring: 6.0 X 5o

Shape: Toro Negra

Strength: Medium

NOTE: Infused cigar “coffee”

 

My Observations: This is very nice looking cigar that has a deep chocolate colored wrapper. The wrapper has small non noticeable veins and is constructed nicely. The cap was beautifully placed and I like the fact that this cigar has a shaggy foot which I personal think assists you with obtaining a perfect burn line. The smell of this cigar is to die for which consists of a sweet roasted coffee fragrances. Trust me if you are a coffee drinker you will love this cigar. On the finger touch inspection, I found the cigar wrapper to be very oily and spongy to the touch. 

 

Cigar Label: The label colors are true to the cigars name which consists of brown, gold, and black. I can tell you that it immediately drew my attention when I was looking for a new cigar to review. The cigar itself along with its beautiful label seem to stand out from the other forty cigars housed around it. I have to give a  big “Hats off” to Drew Estates for another great marketing scheme because it worked on me.

 

Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: I used my cigar scissors on my Tabac and sliced right through the cap with ease. The pre-draw was perfect as I savored the rich Java tastes along with sweet notes of milk chocolate. The toasting phase was wonderful because as I stated above, the shaggy foot took to my triple burner like a bee to honey.

 

 

Flavors: The flavors of this cigar consisted of sweet milk chocolate and rich dark roasted coffee. These flavors are consistent throughout the smoke and it kept my pallet begging for more. Yes, its an infused cigar but trust me it is pure heaven!

 

Draw and burn line: The draw was perfect throughout the smoke with no problems to speak of! The burn line was totally even throughout the smoke and required no touchups. I would like to mention that the bright white ash compliments this dark chocolate wrapper and needs little attention.

 

Price? Approximately $6.50 a stick.

Drink of choice? Hot coffee from Honey Dew.

Smoke Time? About two hours! Take it slow enjoy the rich flavors.

Liked it? Yes.

Recommend it? Yes, pick this one up!

Hint? This infused cigar was paired with Nicaraguan estate coffee. If you love coffee you will love this cigar!

 

 

Over All?

 

 

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

4 Responses

  1. Nice review Stew! I actually enjoy the Tabak more than the Java. I don’t think the Tabak has that overwhelming upfront sweetness like you get on the Java.

  2. I agree with Jerry about liking the Tabak better than the Java. The room aroma is also a lot nicer with the Tabak. The Java smells almost like artificial sweetener, but the Tabak gives off a nice sweet chocolatey smell. I had one of the smaller vitolas of these last night, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

