DEVILS WEED CIGAR

 

 

 

Today I am reviewing a special cigar called the Devils Weed made from the Molina Cigar Company. At this time I would like to personally thank Mr. Louis Molina for his generosity in forwarding me some samples so that this cigar review was possible. Please note though that I am in no way affiliated or was I compensated from the Molina Cigar Company for this review. OK, with that out of the way, I am looking forward to this review so lets get into it.

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Ecuadorian Connecticut  

BINDER & FILLER: Dominican / Dominican (4 leaves)

Length/Ring: 6 1/2 X 56

Shape: Nicot

Strength: Mild to Medium

 

My Observations: When I picked this cigar from the packaging, I was amazed to find to what appeared to be a cigar covered in a dark brown and white wrapper covered with devils. I have to say that this is a nice marketing scheme and should bring attention to the product. Once the wrapper was pulled away I found the treasure that I was waiting for that being the Devils Weed cigar. Once I laid my eyes on it, I immediately noticed the beautiful clean golden light brown Connecticut wrapper. This wrapper was rolled with complete confidence and immediately commands respect. The cap was centered perfectly and I found no soft spots once I conducted the finger touch inspection. 

 

Cigar Label: The label is very cool looking and fits the name perfectly. The colors consist of maroon and gold which blend well with the Devil pictured on the label. 


Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: I used my cigar scissors on this baby which went off with no problems. The pre-draw was perfect as I expected due to the way this baby was rolled “flawless!” The pre-draw flavor consisted of a rich woodsy flavor which immediately brings your attention to this cigar. The toasting phase was pure pleasure with the use of the three match method. As posted in my prior posts this is supposed to be the best way to light your cigar, so give it a try. 

 


Flavors: The flavors of this cigar consisted of cinnamon, cedar wood, spice, nutmeg, creamy peanut butter “goodness”, and hints of rich chocolate. All these flavors blend well together, and will keep your pallet not only guessing but begging for more. 

 

 

Draw and burn line: The draw was perfect throughout the smoke but I do have to mention that I had to relight it once during the smoke. I will say that this could have been due to the operator “me” relaxing way to long between puffs! I only found this problem on the second cigar I smoked but to be fair to the review I thought that it needed to be mentioned. The burn line was almost even throughout the smoke though the ash was flakey so keep your ashtray close.

 

 

Price? Approximately $5.00

Drink of choice? Hot coffee.

Smoke Time? About and hour and half!

Liked it? Yes.

Recommend it? Yes, this is a great everyday smoke!

Hint? Smoke it you will be amazed!

 

 

Over All?

 

* If you are interested in this gem go to www.molinacigar.com/bienvenidos.htm 

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for your review, Stew! I am glad you enjoyed the cigar! This is definitely a great morning cigar (or one you can smoke several times a day and not get burned!). Hope to see you at your local smoke shop!

    -Luis Molina

  2. Awesome review Stew! I definitely love the Devil’s Weed! The name may make people wonder but don’t let the name fool you.

  3. Very nice Stew. I just found a box on a website that shall remain nameless, at a good price. Gonna give them a try! Keep rockin’ the reviews!

    CD

  4. I have been looking for a new cigar to smoke because I always fall back on the same cigars. I am in no way a cigar aficionado but I do enjoy a cigar at least 3 days a week. After reading your review I have decided to purchase a box of these and give them a try myself they sound like something that I would like to have in my humidor at home. I have placed my order and am now awaiting the arrival for my own smoking pleasure.

    Thank you for the review.
    Gabriel Sosa

  5. Hi i have had two boxes of each Devils weed size from 2008
    and i can tell you that there is not a finer smoke outside of Cuba. The wrapper has aged well darker and the smoke is still middle of the road for strength but is so much richer in the cream notes, less coffee and def. more ceder wood
    if you would like pictures i can send you some
    thanks
    Doug Sanders

Leave a Reply

