Drew Estates “Java” Claro Wafe

 

 

Hey everyone and welcome back to another cigar review from your favorite Irish smoking cigar buddy Stew. Ok todays cigar is the Java Claro Wafe Cigar. I chose this cigar because on Monday, I surfed right over to the Stogie Review to watch Jerry Cruz’s weekly cigar review. On this particular Monday, Mr Cruz had chosen the Drew Estates Java maduro wafe for his selection. I was instantly amazed and bewilder by first the shape and construction of the cigar and then the tastes that Mr. Cruz explained he had encounter during his exploration of this oddly shaped cigar. So once hooked, I searched my local cigar shops and eventually located it at the Regency Emporium cigar shop located in East Greenwich Rhode Island. Not to get off track but I consider this cigar shop to be the hidden gem in Rhode Island. So there you have it with my choice this week and now its time to get into it.

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Connecticut Shade.

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan / Nicaraguan

Length/Ring: 5 X 46

Shape: Wafe

Strength: Mild

My Observations: This is a crazy looking cigar which is box press but at first glimpse, gives the appearance that it was run over several times during rush hour on route 95 (LOL). Now with that said, this cigar is well constructed. The rolling job was nicely done and the cap was placed with confidence. I was amazed to find that the construction was so superbly conducted due to the crushed looking appearance. In the finger touch inspection, I found no soft spot to speak of. 

Cigar Label: One word, boring. This is my personal opinion but I guess when you have a crazy looking cigar, you really don’t have to have a great looking cigar label to get the consumers attention. The label is maroon with the appearance of a worn gold color. Again boring!

 

Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: I used guillotine cutter for this task which went off with a band. Pre-draw was excellent at which time I detected a nice strong hint of sweet java mocha flavor “nice!” The toasting phase was excellent with the use of my triple burner lighter. So now that we have these tasks completed, its time to sit back and enjoy the crazy Java experience.

 

Flavors: I will spear you the first third, middle third, final third experience. Basically what you first smell and detect on your pallet during the first puff “sweet java mocha flavors” is what you get throughout the smoke. Basically it’s a great tasting cigar and trust me, even the cigar smoking haters will approve of this one.

 

Draw and burn line: The draw was excellent throughout the smoke and the burn line was amazingly consistent as well.

Price? Around $ 4.00 a stick and $135.99 for a box of forty.

Drink of choice? Hot tea.

Smoke Time? Around and hour but its a fast smoke

Liked it? Yes.

Recommend it? Yes especially for beginners and mild cigar lovers. 

Hint? Its a flavored cigar so what you first smell is what your going to get in this cigar.

 

 

Over All?

Stew:

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

5 Responses

  1. Hey Stew.
    Cool looking cigar. I am eager to try it. I’ll bet they stack neatly in the humidor.
    Nice review!

  2. Great job pointing out that this cigar would be great “gateway” cigar for someone new to the world of cigars. Maybe if I mentioned that in my review it would’ve went over better LOL.

  3. Hey Stew,
    I was a huge fan of the Kahlua cigars by Drew Estates. They were discontinued. Is this Java an adequate replacement? Could you recommend a comparable replacement for the kahlua brand?

    • George,

      I am sorry to say but I can’t at this point in time. Not a hugh flavor cigar fan but I would give the Java a try!

Leave a Reply

