REYES FAMILY PREMIER CIGAR

 

 

Todays cigar was sent to me by Mr. Frank Santos of the Reyes Family Cigars. I guess you could say I am following in the footsteps of my cigar brother Barry of Cigar Smokers blog site. Anyways, I also was given  a bonus tee-shirt as well to my surprise (Thanks Frank!)

The Reyes Family is awesome to deal with and you can tell they are not only in the business for profit but for customer satisfaction as well. This is not the norm anymore and normally cigar companies and their staff could care less about a small cigar reviewer such as myself; but with the Reyes Family this is not the case! I applaud them not because they sent me a cigar for this review but because they took a few minute out of their busy day to converse with me about cigars through an email and didn’t blow me off which to me is the sign of a great company. Thanks again Frank and I hope the Reyes Family knows that they have a winner on their staff! Ok, with my speech over and done with, lets get to the review which I promise will be fair and accurate!

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Maduro Ecuador Sumatra

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan / Nicaraguan. 

Length/Ring: 5 X 50

Shape: Robusto

Strength: Medium 

My Observations: This is a great looking cigar which was well rolled. The wrapper leaf is chocolate brown and covered with little non noticeable veins. No imperfections were found and the only complaint that I have found so far was a couple of soft spots in the middle of the cigar when I conducted my finger touch inspection. The cap was placed perfectly.

 

Cigar Label: The label is outstanding and caught my eye as soon as I saw it. The colors are black, purple, white, and silver! This was a great marketing scheme and I think the art work is exquisite!

 

Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: Snipping was a joy with my cigar scissors (so again get then if you don’t own them yet!) The pre-draw was incredibly smooth which brought a sweet cedar taste to my pallet. Toasting this cigar was easy and without much effort with the use of my triple burner cigar lighter!

 

Flavors: The first third of the cigar, I found the flavors to be strong hints of coffee and dirt (earthy ground flavors). I swore that for a few seconds I also detected a flowery taste as well. The second third of the cigar again focus on strong hints of java, sort in the area of rich cuban roasted coffee. This coffee flavor was again accompanied by the quick hints of dirt. The last third focus on a few hints of pepper and spice but mainly stayed consistent with the rich Cuban roasted coffee flavor.

 

Draw and burn line: The draw line was consistent throughout the smoke and produced a nice compact white ash. The only complaint I had was that you had to puff this baby quicker than I like to avoid it going out. This could have been due to the humidity we have had in New England and the fact that I didn’t house it in my humidor for the amount of time that I personally like to do (around two weeks before smoking). 

Price? Around $ 7.50 a stick

Drink of choice? Iced green tea.

Smoke Time? Hour and half.

Liked it? Yes! 

Recommend it? Yes! 

Hint? Once you buy it, house it for at least two weeks if received from an online source. If you purchased it from your local cigar shop, jump right into it. 

 

Note: I am not affiliated in anyway with the Reyes Family Cigar Company or a  spokesman for them.

 

Over All?

 

Until Next Time

Stew

One Response

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed these. I’m going to give them another try. I have to agree, the Reyes peeps are great. I felt bad for giving them a bad review awhile back. Hopefully it was just a bad batch.

Leave a Reply

