CAO PERFECTO NATURAL FROM THE CAO AMERICA 4TH OF JULY SERIES BOX

 

 

Todays cigar is a special one which I picked up from Famous Cigars, the CAO Perfecto America from the 4th of July special addition box set. This is a cool looking cigar and is a complete reverse of the usual CAO America cigars. I would like to give my good friend Barry “Kudos” because I learned of this special addition set from his web site (Thanks Barry!) So without further delay, lets get into this gem!

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Dark Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro and lighter Connecticut Shade Capa.

BINDER & FILLER: Ligero tobaccos from Nicaragua, Italy, U.S.A., and the Dominican Republic bound in a zesty Brazilian.

Length/Ring: 60 X 6 

Shape: Perfecto

Strength: Medium to Full

My Observations: This is an awesome looking cigar that commands attention. The roller took his or her time with this one and it was highly noticeable when I inspected it. I really have to say that I am deeply impressed and can’t wait to fire up this baby. The veins are small and really unnoticeable and I found no soft spots on the finger touch inspection. I really must say that I am still in awe with the reverse wrap from the original CAO America! Great market scheme CAO!

Cigar Label: The label is just like the original CAO America which is red white and blue which to any United States Citizen, is awesome site! 

Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: The snip phase was a pleasant experience with the use of my Xzkar scissors. The pre-draw was a bit tight which I was a bit concerned about. On the dry draw, which again was tight, I detected that leathery taste which I have come to know from smoking the CAO America line. The toasting phase was a bit rough again because of the tight draw but after a few puffs with the aid of my single burner lighter, it was finally lit. 

Flavors: The cigar started off with heavy hints of leather and then some peppery flavors. As I made my way through this cigar, I detected some small hints of chocolate but again the cigar mainly focuses on rich leather. I have to say that this cigar is a lot stronger than the other CAO America cigars I have smoked in the past and to be truthful I grew tired of it quickly due to the same flavors without much change.

Draw and burn line: Point blank, the draw was not up to par which I believe affected my cigar smoking experience! As for burn issues, the cigar had didn’t really have burn issues and pretty much stayed consistent throughout the smoke. The only complaint I had was I had to relight it a couple of times which is aggravating to say the least.

 

Price? The set is retailed at $29.99 at Famous Cigars

Drink of choice? Hot Tea.

Smoke Time? Two hours

Liked it? Up in the Air right now. 

Recommend it? Not yet, I want to see if housing it for a few months will bring out any new flavors. I will revisit it in six months to let you know.

 

Hint? If you love leathery flavors pull the trigger on this one! 

 

Over All?

 

Until Next Time

Stew

2 Responses

  1. Stew,

    Great review as always man! I had one of these for the 4th of July this year, and I’m not sure what I thought about it. It burned horribly for me and I had only purchased it about 2 days prior to smoking it.

    I’m sure, just as you said, that with a little more rest in the humidor it would be a better cigar.

    Kudos on the review man!

  2. I can’t bring myself to smoke that or the boxpress yet. I want to review them, but I guess in time I will smoke it. I have a couple of stogies in my humidor that I have had for 3 years. So hard to smoke them.

Leave a Reply

