ROCKY PATEL SUMMER BLEND 2008

 

 

Todays cigar is the Rocky Patel Summer blend 2008. I would like to thank my good friend Barry for this cigar because I was unable to find it so far in the great State of Rhode Island (The Ocean State). The thought behind this cigar was to match it with the flavors of the summer months. So with the idea of this cigar behind us, lets get down to business!

 

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER:  Ecuadorian-grown, Habano-seed wrapper,

BINDER & FILLER: Cameroon binder // Nicaraguan-grown filler leaves from the Condega, Esteli and Jalapa farm areas. 

Length/Ring: 4 x 50 

Shape: Robusto

Strength: Full 

 

My Observations: I have to say that I was deeply disappointed by my first impressions of this cigar. The cigar wrapper was not well wrapped and it was obvious in its appearance. I found several rolling errors which was evident that this cigar was rushed. The wrapper has large veins and I found several soft spots on the finger touch. The only high point about the cigars makeup would be the cap which was centered and placed perfectly. 

 

Cigar Label: The label was tastefully chosen and will catch the consumers eye. The label is silver, red, and gold.

 

Snip & Pre-Draw & Toasting: The snip was easy with my trusty cigar siccors . The pre-draw was perfect and I detected some type of citrus, lemony flavor which I found to be pleasant. The toasting phase went well and this cigar took right to the flames from my triple burner cigar lighter. 

 

Flavors: The cigar started off well with hints of spice and floral flavors in the first third of my smoke. On the second third, the cigar turns towards an orangey, peppery type flavor which got old really fast. The orangey flavor basically continued for the rest of the smoke and at times I felt like I was smoking a citronella candle. Let me warn you that this cigar starts off as a medium cigar and quickly turns to full body. I was amazed at the instant change and was not ready for it. So smoke it slow or you will pay the price!


Draw and burn line: This cigar burns rather well but became uneven at times. My biggest complaint was that it went out a couple of times which basically aggravated me! 

 

Price? $8.50 a stick.

Drink of choice? Cold H2O.

Smoke Time? About two hours.

Liked it? NO! 

Recommend it? NO!

Hint? If you like citronella candles and don’t mind smoking one, buy it. To be fair though maybe some time in a humidor will change the flavors for the better but for me I will stay clear of this one!

 

Over All?

 

 

Until Next Time

Stew

3 Responses

  1. Wow I am so shocked you didn’t like it. I thought this is one of the best cigars this year along with the dunhill signed range.

    The issue of staying lit I am sure had to do with the shipping. The last couple of days its been 100% humidity.

  2. I had one of these just last night in the lancero. Ended up being ok. Not rocking my world, and honestly made me a little sick toward the end, but it wasn’t foul.

  3. I have to say this cigar was “OK” but didn’t impress me too much. Here’s what I thought of it back in a 12 second post in August of 07
    http://12seconds.tv/channel/tomscigars/17614

Leave a Reply

