ROCKY PATEL FUSION DC “BLACK LABEL”

Today I continue with the Rocky Patel Fusion line which brings us to the Fusion DC “black label.” This barber-pole toro comes in at 6.5 x 52. The wrapper is listed at www.cigarsinternational.com to be a make up of both the blue label fusion and the green label fusion. I could not get any other information on it but I believe along with Jerry from the Stogie Review that it is the left over cigars from the Split Decision line. Either way I am unable to give the exact information on the binder and filler so I won’t. The only thing I can tell you is the wrapper is a little darker than the Spilt Decision.

In my observation of the cigar, not bad at all! Its rolled pretty well for a barber-pole cigar with no soft spots. The cap is a little sloppy but other than that not much to complain about at this time. Now I was ready for the snip and toasting phase. The snip was excellent and the draw was smooth. With that I conducted a dry run taste but it didn’t produce any flavors for me “bummer.” So with that, I lit my Rocky Patel Fusion DC black label which took to my flame with ease. 

Once lit, I detected a some spice and a earthy flavors. This lasted for only a few seconds and then pretty much the taste went blah! This was just like the ITC Spilt Decision and my insides began to turn. Why I said would Rocky Patel include this type of cigar along with his other Fusion cigars? Why I said and then reality hit me, “Profit you dummy!” 

Back to the review, not much changed as I struggle to get through the cigar with complete disgust. To top it off it went out a couple of times and the burn was uneven “talk about pissed off!” So with that I’m sure you know how this review is going to end, and Yes Jerry was right with his prediction! 

Price? Not sure because I can’t find them priced alone. It seems that you can only get them with the fusion sampler. (I think Rocky Patel should pay me for smoking this crap!”

Drink of choice? Java

Smoke Time? Over an hour is you can smoke this junk that long.

Strength? Medium at best.

Liked it? Please I would rather smoke Elephant dung.

Recommend it? Do I really have to say it?

Hint? Take some firecrackers and blow them up for fun!

Over All?

 

 

 

Now thats a first for the Stew rating a double “thumbs” down! I say that goes with the double wrap for this “BUST!”

Until Next Time

Stew

9 Responses

  1. Is it just me, or does it seem like there are more bad cigars out there lately from reputable companies?! Does someone actually sit down, smoke it, and say “Yes, this is a cigar we can be proud of.”

    Great review and blog by the way. Sorry for the rant!

    • Granted there may be bad cigars but if aged a little some seem to taste better.. So many Cigars so little time. Long Ashes to you…Bob

  2. I think it’s just Tom. All Tom. If it weren’t for Tom, all of Rocky’s “Fusion” cigars would be golden.

    I’m guessing the wrapper scent of an elephant dung cigar would be very strong compost! LOL Seriously though, it’s a shame these suck so much. I’ve been tempted to pick up a few, and now I’m going to steer clear. My wallet thanks you!

  3. Uh oh, I have one of these resting in my humidor. I’m a big RP fan but this has me a bit concerned. Guess I’ll have to give it a try (yikes)

    Love the reviews!!!

  4. Wow a double thumbs down! I had a bad feeling about these when you posted them on Twitter. Seems like manufacturers (not just RP) are putting out an array of cigars and hoping that by odds alone one of them will hit. Unfortunately, RP missed the nail again.

  5. I just smoked the one you sent me.. HORRIBLE.. I don;t even think I will do a review. I might file this one away for a future review with my notes. Would rate like a 80 at best.

  6. I had one the other day, and I didn’t hate it. I found it to be very, very mild with a light taste of sugar, almost like the wrapper had been sweetened, but not as obviously as one of those clove-ey Drew Estates Naturals. Anyway, I didn’t have a problem with it ever going out, but then I was on a short break and was huffing the darn thing pretty quickly. So, just wanted to offer a little counterpoint to the negative review — far from the greatest cigar I’ve ever had, frankly too mild and the sweetness put me off a bit; but also far, far from the worst. Cheers.

  7. Wow! But I shouldn’t be surprised about the double thumbs down. I have found that Rocky Patel cigars are very one dimensional smokes, and for the most part, I don’t care for them. However, I did smoke the Sun Grown torpedo and enjoyed that one.

    Thanks for this review.~~ Grsshppr

  8. I never smoke a cigar until it has been in a humidor for at least 6 months..

Leave a Reply

