ROCKY PATEL FUSION “BLUE LABEL”

Today’s cigar review is the Rocky Patel Fusion “Blue Label”. This cigar is the Toro which comes in at 6.5″ x 52. This cigar has an oily Habano wrapper with an Ecuadorian, Connecticut binder which is accompanied with Nicaraguan, Cameroon, and Honduran fillers. 

In my inspection of this cigar, I found it to be rolled rather well but I found certain spots where the cigar wrapper was ripped. The area was very small and I wonder if it may have happen from poor shipping care from where I purchased the cigars from. I can tell you that this was not caused from the smokers error. I did not find any soft spots and the smell was delightful. So with that behind me, I was ready for the snip and toasting phase.

So before we proceed, lets take a look at the wrapper problem I had during the smoke!

Once the cigar was lit it produced large amounts of thick smoke due to the loose and easy draw. So with that out of the way, the first flavors I encounter on my pallet were  spices, hints of chocolate “nice”, and hints of nutty flavors. Later on I encounter an oak flavor which was quickly followed again by chocolate and spice. I have read that this cigar is made up of the Rocky Patel Vintage ’90 and Vintage ’92 smokes but I think it is far superior and I know I am going out on a limb on that statement.

The second complaint I had was the constant burn issue. As a result, I had to touch it up a couple of times during my smoke. Again lets take a look.

 

That is about the only complaints I had and I have to say that I enjoyed this cigar immensely. The flavors alone which constantly change keep you pallet guessing and wanting more. I think personnally thay Rocky has a winner here but that the flaws that I encounter need to be corrected. Hey nothing is perfect so I will take that into account before I render my final verdict. 

 

So I will end my review here and render my desicion. 

 

Price? Around $ 7.50 a stick.

Smoke time? Two hours.

Drink of choice? G2 grape (Hey I like it!)

Strength? Medium

Liked it? Yes.

Recommend it? Yes sir.

Hint? Put it to sleep in your humidor after you smoke one and revisit again in a couple of months. Hell thats just what I am going to do. (Ok with a little will power!)

Over ALL?

Until next time.

Stew

3 Responses

  1. Nice review Stew! I need to mention your site in my next video as we seem to smoke the same cigars although our opinions may differ a bit.

    I had to go back and see what I said in my review and it seems like I was a bit confused by the cigar (which isn’t a bad thing per se) because I picked up a lot of the flavors you find in the Vintage 90 and then the flavors for the Vintage 92 started blending in and it was different.

    I too need to give this smoke another try as my review was based on the one I was sent as a gift.

    Great job man! Keep em coming!

  2. Stew,

    Great review! I picked up some of these a while back and sent one to Jerry from StogieReview. I usually enjoy anything Rocky Patel creates, and this is on my list of “likes”.

    I really enjoy your blog!

  3. […] hints of coffee, chocolate nut, spice, and oak wood. This cigar was almost exactly as I remember it when I reviewed the Rocky Patel Fusion last June 2008. I really enjoyed this cigar and would buy the 2nds again in a minute. Not only does it save you […]

Leave a Reply

