Nub Connecticut “Is it’s fame over?”

Image

Hello everyone. Recently I read an article over at the Stogie Review by Walt on the Nub Connecticut cigar. In his video review, he questions whether or not the Nub cigars are still a factor in the cigar world today. Once I finished watching the video I decided to tackle the question myself here at the World According to Stew. I too loved the Nub’s when they first came out but kind of lost touch with them since then. Anyway here is my thoughts on my revisit to the Nub Connecticut.

CIGAR MAKE UP:

WRAPPER: Connecticut

BINDER & FILLER: Nicaraguan / Nicaraguan

Length/Ring: 4 X 60

Strength: Mild to Medium

Price: Approximately $7.00

My Observations: I found it to be a nice looking cigar that fits perfectly in your hand. The cigar itself had a minor imperfection consisting of a small pin hole mid way down the cigar but other than that not much other to speak of.

  • Over all “B” in the grading department

Cigar Label: Very cool tan, gold, brown, and maroon colors.

Snip: Straight cut.

Pre-Draw: Pleasant tobacco taste.

Flavors: The 1st third of this cigar consisted of a nice buttery taste complimented by cocoa, which was the same that I detected back in 2008. The 2nd third stayed pretty much the same with small hints of nuts.  The last third basically ended without any additional changes.

Draw: Perfect

Burn line: Perfect

Liked it: Yes

Recommend it: Yes.


In closing, this cigar was just as a remembered it to be. A good quality cigar that lets you enjoy a quick smoke if time is factor. Finally, I agree with Walt in the fact that I too have replaced this cigar as my Connecticut go to due to others that have arrived on the scene that are cheaper money with richer flavors.

So is the Nub’s fame over? I would have to say “Yes.” Why “Yes” you ask, well the way I see it is the cigar was nothing more than a fab that peaked in 2008 & 2009 and has since faded. Please don’t get me wrong, I still love the line but facts are facts and I believe most have moved away from the hype leaving this line to fade away in the sunset.

Until Next Time

Stew

2 Responses

  1. Good review,I think you are right, good cigar, but for the money, there are a lot out there today that are better.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

